Sign In | Register

Bukhara

ITC Maurya, New Delhi

3.8 based on 22 reviews
28/30
Critic Rating

Vir's Verdict

Rating - 28/30

This may be the world’s most famous Indian restaurant; it certainly is among Delhi’s most expensive. Such celebrities as Bill Clinton and Bruce Springsteen have come here not just for the kababs but for the raan (a tandoori leg of lamb), the dairy-rich Dal Bukhara, and tandoori chicken made as it should be, from small, free-range birds and with no food colour. The kabab-heavy menu has remained largely unchanged since 1978 as has the decor. Not very comfortable seating guarantees that you will not linger over your meal so they can sell your table again. No cutlery is offered, only an apron is provided and guests are encouraged to tear the naans and hunks of tandoori mutton apart with their bare hands. Vegetarians get paneer, aloo and gobhi, but this is a meat lover’s haunt.

User Reviews on Bukhara , ITC Maurya, New Delhi


Gaurav Khosla
Posted on : 22 Mar, 2017
☆ ☆
Overhyped and overrated
I went there with my 3 other colleagues. The seating arrangement is worst from a 5 star standard. Seats without back rests. The service is also average types we had to ask for papads thrice the onion rings were cut in a manner that a roadside dhaba would do a much better job in this department. Now the food I had Paneer tikka tAndori aloo dal bhukhara khas ta roti and butter naan. The taste was not that great and I kept on wondering as to for what for are they charging so much .the only thing is the food is too heavy I would definitely not recommend it

Deepali
Posted on : 04 Jan, 2017
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
Worth every bite.
Me and my family went to Bukhara for dinner and were lucky to get a table within half an hour (otherwise the waiting can go for as long as 2 hours). Bukhara is an epitome for Mughal food and the food there never disappoints. The succulent chicken tikkas, mutton rarra, fish tikka along with dal makhani is enough to make you fall in love with this place. But you will have your awe-struck moment when you see the huge naan bukhara- it is a massive single piece naan for the entire family to share. We were 8 people with heavy appetite and were still not able to finish it. The staff is friendly and nice.

Abhishek
Posted on : 13 Dec, 2016
☆ ☆ ☆
A little Overrated
Went there with my wife last as a part of our list to cover some of the best restaurants in Delhi. to be honest purely from a vegetarian point of view this place does not do the justice the food and in the end u feel like overly charged for a regular meal. the ambience and style of eating is different, interesting and indulging as well specially for foreigners. the biggest flaw i found was they didn't allow to pack the leftover food stating it as a policy. To be honest in a country like ours it's so wrong to throw food and top of it all you feel cheated as u have paid thru your nose for that food

Kabir Midha
Posted on : 15 Nov, 2016
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
A must visit for all
Whenever I have visited this place my expectations have just been exceeded. Starting from the doorman to the captain to the runner to the sever and the manager they all are so warm friendly and nice. This place feels like home and I love my visits here. A big thank you for always making it so special.

Kirti Singla
Posted on : 02 Nov, 2016
☆ ☆ ☆
Ambience!!!
As you enter the place you are welcomed by a magnificent setting, a delightful marriage of antique cut stones and the luxuries of modernity.  Sitting in any table you have a wonderful view of the workshop-like kitchen where you can see the chefs working. For those who do not book a table and are waiting, there is a cosy lounge with aged leather armchairs and pictures of polo players displayed on the walls.A must fo place for a percect evening.

Jatin Tewari
Posted on : 25 Oct, 2016
☆ ☆ ☆
Over rated
The food is average nothing exceptional.Aptly described as khuda meherbaan to gadha pehelwaan. Although proce is not the consideration of the food is really out of the world which really is not.Waiters rude service ok type.Just encashing on old legacy or may be review by rigged food critics. Whome i am sure haven't tasted good food.

Nikunj
Posted on : 10 Oct, 2016
☆ ☆ ☆
Amazing
Food was amazing.Dal is out of the world.ambience is quite good.Little extra priced.I was in waiting for more than one hour. dal Bukhara is their veg star with rich taste of butter and tomato gravy.Bukahara naan is also quite good. Service not up to the mark.Very rude waiters Dumpukjt better than bukahara at any point of time.

Aatish
Posted on : 06 Oct, 2016
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
Indian cuisine at its finest
one of the most famous fine dining Indian restaurant in Delhi and it has thankfully managed to maintain its standards over the years. Their customary apron and eating with hands is sometimes nice but a put off too at times!. Dal Bukhara is their veg star . The main attractant of the restaurant . Its just amazing . With soo much butter and the rich flavour. <3 Their chicken khurchan which we requested for based on the suggestion given by eazydiner :p And omg !! It was unbelievable. No nonveg should ever be denied the experience !!

Vishaka Beriwala
Posted on : 12 Sep, 2016
☆ ☆ ☆
Average
Good food, but exorbitant. Keeping the price aspect aside, Bukhara Is not a restaurant I would want to visit again. With a sparse menu and overloading of butter in everything. Some dishes are good - tandoori gobhi, phirni Some are so-so : tandoori paneer (I don't understand what's so good about the paneer there)!! It's soft and that it.. It's not seasoned well and not charred in the grill long enough.. The breads: beware of ordering the onion kulchhha: it's a lot of flour and a lot of butter and less onion.. 4 bites and I couldn't eat more! I would recommend Indian food lovers to go elsewhere to enjoy the flavors and avoid a cholesterol attack..

Astha
Posted on : 17 Aug, 2016
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
Favourite!!
Bukhara is one of the most expensive and finest restaurants in delhi!!! Although it pinches my pocket to go there.. Still its a worth going place. Although starters and other main courses are quite expensive!! I really love Daal Bukhara, it is my favourite dish on the menu!! Loved the experience.. Kudos to Bukhara..

Publish a Review

BOOK A TABLE

Earn Free Meals

Earn 100 EazyRupees per person on every booking and get closer to your free meal.
Know more

About Bukhara

Efficient service and an ever smiling staff will go an extra mile to keep you comfortable.. An evening in the Bukhara in posh ITC Maurya with your family and friends leaves you elated. It is better to get your reservation done in advance as the place is usually booked in prior.
Read More on Bukhara

Other North Indian Restaurant Reviews

Other Popular Restaurant which can be booked at EazyDiner

Your favourite app for eating out

Instant restaurant reservation with guaranteed deals in more than 1800 restaurants across India & Dubai.

Popular Cuisines in Delhi NCR


Top Restaurants To Eat in Delhi NCR

Reserve and get amazing deals at top restaurants in these cities - Delhi NCR / Mumbai / Bengaluru / Chennai / Pune / Kolkata / Dubai / Goa
© EazyDiner Private Limited