Create an account

Elma's Bakery

OVERALL RATING
3.4
Based on 11 Reviews
3.3636 11

CRITIC RATING: 21 /30

Phantom Speaks

This delightful little bakery in Hauz Khas Village has a loyal following and is usually abuzz with activity throughout the day. The stacked pancakes and the waffles are very popular as is the breakfast. Its English tea-house decor is cosy and washed with natural light making it a place where one can linger for hours with a nice book. The high tea is popular and well-priced at Rs 690 and can be upgraded to a ‘sparkling’ high tea with prosecco or champagne.

User Reviews on Elma's Bakery, Hauz Khas Village, South Delhi

Elma's Bakery
Posted on: 04 Jan, 2017

Very homely Cafe. at Elma's Bakery

Elma's is a very famous bakery just in the beginning of the Hauz Khas Fort road. After 3 flights of very tiny stairs you finally reach this small and very home feel like cafe which is always buzzing with people. We tried the infamous Rainbow cake over there. The cake was beautiful to look at with all the vibrant colors but tasted too much of butter cream. Butter cream was overpowering the sponge but for a person who is a fan of butter cream frosting it will be a good buy.

Elma's Bakery
Posted on: 04 Aug, 2016

Nice joint at Elma's Bakery

It's as all quaint little cafe in the by lands of haus khas village...follow the signage if you may miss this eatery!
There aren't too many options to eat actually it's more like a small cafe where u catch up with friends over a cup of coffee n some desserts!
There aren't too many savoury options...
It's setting is like an old world English cafe but I think it needs revamping as it looks worn out!

Elma's Bakery
Posted on: 26 Jul, 2016

Very very disappointing at Elma's Bakery

This was a dreadful experience . I had heard so much about the dessert at this place . The fact that their red velvet cakes were just too good to be true was the basic reason for my going there .
But much to my disappointment it was just forgettable . The red velvet tasted stale and pretty mealy . Not at all up to the mark.
It was a huge moodkiller and so we just left without exploring more options from the menu .
Hope the staff reads this and makes some amends . Overall I wouldn't really recommend this place to anyone ! If you really want to have an amazing red velvet cake , better visit any outlet of Starbucks !! Fantastic !!

Elma's Bakery
Posted on: 19 Nov, 2015

English ambiance and lovely food/bakery at Elma's Bakery

the restraunt made me go 'awwwww' the moment i entered. Gives a feel of goa mixed with a european touch. you can sit there for hours in peace and read a book while munching on their yum food.
recommendations:
Sweet : Red velvet cake( the best in town.)
Salty : Fish n chips, croissant and non-veg mezze platter.

I would specifically point that the fish of 'fish n chips' was absolutely yumm! Extremely soft and fresh!

Elma's Bakery
Posted on: 13 Sep, 2015

Love the place at Elma's Bakery

A cozy small place located on 2nd floor just when you enter HKV. If you are in a mood to just sit and talk with your friend or spend some quality time with your love or just want to spend some time alone..You must visit this place. It gives you an aura of sitting at your home along with serving you some lovely cakes, mocktails etc.

My all time favorite is their slice of Red velvet Cake. If you have not yet given it a shot, Trust me, you are missing on something that you might regret.

Just go, order and enjoy!!

Elma's Bakery
Posted on: 08 Sep, 2015

Amazing desserts! at Elma's Bakery

Elma's is my favourite desserts place in NCR. I always make a point to go her just for there yummy cakes whenever I am at hkv. Once I happen to get a round of its kitchen and saw dozens of red velvet cakes being frosted,baked and stored.Go here for their signature red velvet cake. One can also try their hi tea when with bunch of your girls and savoury items are equally good.

Elma's Bakery
Posted on: 07 Sep, 2015

Wow Red velvet at Elma's Bakery

Thinking about Elma’s red velvet cake brings water in my mouth.. I have never had such a perfect blend of red velvet and cream cheese.

Definitely recommended for all the dessert people. They have 2 outlets in the city but HKV being my favourite one because of the homely and cozy atmosphere and the wondferful interiors

Elma's Bakery
Posted on: 21 Aug, 2015

Red Velvet! at Elma's Bakery

Elma's serve one of the best red velvet cake in whole of Delhi. I am a regular visitor to this place but only for having their red velvet cake. They must work on their pricing a bit as the prices are very very high which sometimes makes me think whether a slice of red velvet cake worth the high prices they are charging.

Ambience - 4/5
Food - 5/5
Service - 4/5

Elma's Bakery
Posted on: 12 Aug, 2015

Best red velvet ever! at Elma's Bakery

I have had red velvet at elmas and it surely is the best red velvet i have ever had. It is a little high on price but it is sure worth it. This place has beautiful interiors and it is quite a place in hauz khas village. Although the red velvet slice was really thin but it tasted heavenly. Like really. All thumbs up .

Elma's Bakery
Posted on: 10 Aug, 2015

Burnt a hole in the pocket for nothing at Elma's Bakery

Elma's Bar and Kitchen – Expensive for Nothing

After a long long climb, tada! you find Elma’s in the third floor of the building. And as I walked in, the live band was playing one of my favorites, ‘Bennie and the Jets’. Boy, was I impressed with the refined taste of music, when the rest of HKV is jiving to pop. Snug and homestyle ambience, the restaurant is decorated with an antique dressing table, bookshelves, crockery cabinet, framed photos, mismatched table/chairs (very uncomfortable), the round white lanterns (loved them) and the works.

Named after the owner’s dog, the restaurant flaunts few awards received from food sites at the entrance. Elma's is spread across two floors, the place is unified via a thin white staircase - kind of open below room architecture. Their bakery display in first floor showcases lots of attractive-looking cakes and pastries.

Our order - one Exotic Vegetable thin crust pizza, one slice each of Red Velvet/Moist Chocolate/Rainbow and a pint of beer. Of the promised ‘EXOTIC’ veggies, chef conveniently forgot to add ASPARAGUS and CHERRY TOMATOES; all we could find was broccoli/mushroom/bell peppers and basil leaves thrown in. How exotic for 500 bucks! Here’s how the cake slices fared, in ascending order - Red Velvet>Rainbow> Moist Chocolate. And the best of three, Moist Chocolate had the tiniest portion (see picture). Service is awful, we were served water on the payment of bill, that too after asking. Wonder, if it’s a norm here.

Concisely, for one wafer thin veg pizza (No, it’s not me, that’s what the menu says), one pint of domestic beer and three cake slices (actually two slices and a sliver), set me back by INR 2000 (all inclusive) and left me hungry for the night. Elma's too overrated. Ain't no going back!

Have you been here? Write and Publish a review on Elma's Bakery, Hauz Khas Village, South Delhi

Rating
Title
Review
Review cannot be posted without signing in. to login.